

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

County Building P.O. Box 70, Room 131 Cheboygan, Michigan 49721

Tel ~ (231) 627-8855 Fax ~ (231) 627-8881 E-mail ~ ccao@cheboygancounty.net

Cheboygan County Board of Commissioners Resolution 2020-04 Supporting Passage of Legislation to Adopt 4-Year Terms for County Commissioners

At a Regular Meeting of the Cheboygan County Board of Commissioners, on March 10, 2020:

WHEREAS, the 1963 Michigan Constitution stipulated four-year terms for the County Board of Supervisors, the preceding body to today's Board of Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, the Legislature voted in 1966 to abolish Boards of Supervisors and formally replace them with the Boards of Commissioners after the 1968 elections; and

WHEREAS, Public Act 261 of 1966 promulgated that the length of terms for the new County Commissioners shall be concurrent with that of State Representatives, as specified in Article IV, Section 3 of the Michigan Constitution; and

WHEREAS, the scope of duties of a County Commissioner has greatly increased in the last century - road patrols, indigent defense, mental health treatment and substance abuse prevention programing, land use and solid waste planning, food and water supply safety, economic development efforts, emergency management and response, etc.; and

WHEREAS, Michigan is one of only five states in the United States that provides for exclusively two-year terms for County Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, all other county and township elected officials in Michigan are elected to terms of at least four years; and

WHEREAS, the position of County Commissioner is a highly complex oversight role that requires years to master; and

WHEREAS, legislation to amend state law to enact four-years terms has been filed in the form of House Bills 4937-38 and Senate Bills 504-505; and

District 1 Mary Ellen Tryban Vice-Chairman

District 3 Richard B. Sangster Michael Newman Cal Gouine

District 4

District 5 Roberta Matelski

District 6 John B. Wallace Chair

District 7 Steve Warfield WHEREAS, the Michigan Association of Counties supports the legislation as introduced;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Cheboygan County Board of Commissioners supports House Bills 4937-38 and Senate Bills 504-505 to enact four-year terms for County Commissioners.

Motion by Commissioner Michael Newman, seconded by Commissioner Mary Ellen Tryban to adopt Resolution #2020-04. A roll call vote was taken. Motion carried with:

Yeas: Six (6)
Nays: Zero (0)
Absent: One (1)

John B. Wallace

Chairman of the Cheboygan County Board of Commissioners

I, the undersigned, Clerk of Cheboygan County, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and complete copy of a Resolution adopted by the Cheboygan County Board of Commissioners, at its Regular Meeting on March 10, 2020 the original of which is part of the Board's minutes.

Karen L. Brewster

Clerk of the Board of Commissioners Cheboygan County

Haren L. Grewster